Work overview of the compositions

Scores by Andreas F. Staffel can be ordered from Verlag Neue Musik Berlin at and from Edition Anthemion at

Orchestral Music

Beethoven_off_set (oder „ich nehme sie zurück die neunte Symphonie“)

for symphony orchestra and ensemble (2015-2020)


O.= Original instrumentation of the ninth symphony

2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons (+contrabassoon), 4 horns (in D, Bb, basso, ES), 2 trumpets (in D and Bb), 3 trombones (alto, tenor, bass), timpani, bass drum, strings (10-8-6-4-2)

E.= Ensemble

2 flutes (second also piccolo), 2 clarinets in Bb (2.also bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (2. also contrabassoon), 2 trumpets in Bb, 2 horns in F, 1 trombone, 1 tuba, piano (also celesta), accordion, percussion (3 players), crotalis, glockenspiel, vibraphone, oceandrum, various car horns, bicycle bells, 2 suspended cymbals, tam-tam, three middle gongs, tam-tam, 2-4 metal plates, bass drum, congas, guiro, maracas

Passing and videos (in the last set)

Strings (5-4-3-2-1)

Soloist choir
soprano (2) alto (2) tenor (2) bass (2)

The solo violin is tuned a quarter tone (50 cents) lower The orchestra and ensemble are scored in C.

Duration of the individual movements: (10'-5'-7'-15'), total duration: 37 minutes.

The sets can also be performed individually.

Texts/Explanations about the work

Texts and Videos about Beethoven_off_set


Beethoven_off_set, 3rd movement (Adagio molto)
Antje Thierbach (oboe) | Andreas Neufeld (solo violin
Sergey Tchirkov (accordion) | Andreas F. Staffel (inside piano, recorder)
Vienna Symphonic Library

Read more
Orchestral Music

Clairière (Clearance)

for orchestra (2021)


4 flutes (3rd also piccolo, 4th alto recorder), 4 oboes (also English horn), 4 clarinets in Bb (3rd and 4th also bass clarinet), 3 bassoons  (3rd also contrabassoon), 4 horns in F, 4 trumpets in Bb (3rd. Also D trumpet), 4 trombones, 1 tuba, harp, piano (Also celesta), timpani, percussion (three players), crotales, glockenspiel, 3 suspended cymbals, 3 medium gongs, tam-tam snare, bass drum, 3 toms,3 temple blocks, maracas, metal plates, woodblocks, pebbles, metal boxes, chromatic harmonica tubular bells, rin, wind chimes, guiro (ratchet).

violins I (12), violins II (10), viola (7), cellos (6), double basses (5)

Duration: 15:30 min

Texts/Explanations about the work

About Clairière (Clearing) for orchestra (2021)

Read more
Orchestral Music


for piano and orchestra (1992/rev.2000)

Orchestral Music

Koros Heliou

for small orchestra (2004)

Orchestral Music

The Recognitions

for orchestra and tape (2006)

Orchestral piece based on the novel by William Gaddis (The Recognitions)

World Premiere

Eurogress Aachen, Symphony Orchestra Aachen, Conductor, GMD Marcus R. Bosch


Livemitschnitt der Uraufführung
6.02.2006, Eurogress Aachen

Read more
Orchestral Music

ÜBerlinien II

for soprano and orchestra (2010)


ÜBerLinien II (2012): Intermezzo 1
( "Ach wüsstens die Blumen die Kleinen", Hommage á Gerard Grisey)

Read more